The chat window is on the bottom right side of the screen. It is used to send messages to other players. The default keybind to open the chat window is the Enter key.
The chat window displays the list of recent messages. It is hidden by default and only becomes visible when a message is received, or while the player is typing a message. Messages from allies will show a blue username in front of the message, while messages from enemies will show with a red username. The chat window also shows informational messages, such as players logging in and kick votes.
There are different chat channels that messages can be sent to. The current channel is displayed in the top of the chat window. The current channel can be changed by pressing the Tab key while the chat window is open.
Chat Channels[edit | edit source]
- Local (All)
- Messages sent to this channel can be seen only by players near the sender. Local messages will also be displayed above the player for 3 seconds. Long messages are broken off early followed by three dots. Both friendly and enemies can read them. Callouts put template messages in this channel.
- Region (Squad)
- If the player is in a Squad, they will have access to the Squad channel. Messages in this channel can only be seen by Squad members.
- If the player is in a Operation, they will have access to the Operation channel. Messages in this channel can only be seen by Operation members.
- Region (All)
- Messages in this channel will be seen by all players on the current map you are on. All-chat has been disabled in update 0.33.
- Region (Team)
- This channel is open by default when a player joins the game. The Team channel is used for sending messages to all allied players on the current map you are on.
- World (team)
- In World Conquest mode, this channel allows players on different maps to communicate.
- A player can send messages to a single player. The last player they sent a message to will have the private (whisper) channel. The player can respond to whispers by pressing the Backspace key.
- A system command to move you (and your vehicle if applicable) after 120sec into a new random destination. It cannot be performed when enemies are near. Useful in case that you are stuck.
- In World Conquest mode, this channel allows players on different maps to communicate. This chat is readable in a separate tab, where all other chat gets filtered, allowing dedicated logistics players to be able to read requests and other relevant information.
Keyboard Shortcuts[edit | edit source]
Instead of using the Tab key to switch channels, channels can be selected using the keyboard, by typing the channel command in the beginning of the message.
List of commands:
/l- switches to the Local (All) channel
/s- switches to the Region (Squad) channel
/o- switches to the Operation channel
/t- switches to the Region (Team) channel
/w- switches to the World (Team) channel
/logi- switches to the logistics channel
/p "exact username"- sends a whisper message to the player "username"
!unstuckcommand to make you unstuck.
Previous sent chat messages can be scrolled through using the keyboard, with the
Ctrl+↓ keyboard shortcuts.
Muting[edit | edit source]
Players can be (chat) muted on different ways. You can
alt+click on their character (or corpse) when near to use the quick action menu to mute them. Alternately, you can right click their name in chat or squad to mute them via the pop-menu there.